Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Blinking sport light

Old 04-22-2006, 06:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Blinking sport light

I'm a smog tech trying to figure out the criteria for what makes the sport light blink on a 91 honda accord. Custumers complaint is when the light blinks it will not start. Also when driving the light will start to blink and the speedo will jump around. Custumer has stated that the speed sensor has been replaced with no effect. Also has taken to two tranny shops and they state theres nothiong wrong with the tranny, When I drove the car I experienced harsh shifting. Wondering if maybe an intermittant problem with a soloniod in the tranny was causing the problem or maybe he installed a defective speed sensor. Is there a fix to just shut the light off all together so the puter doest see the issue. Any help would be appreaciated. Thanks
Old 04-22-2006, 07:04 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Blinking sport light (slosmogman)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by slosmogman &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">I'm a smog tech trying to figure out the criteria for what makes the sport light blink on a 91 honda accord. </TD></TR></TABLE>
What trouble code does it have stored?
Old 04-22-2006, 07:09 AM

Default Re: Blinking sport light (Chiovnidca)

oops, meant to put in codes, 2, 7, 8
Old 04-22-2006, 08:51 AM

you got an issue with lock up ans shift solenoid valves..

chk that all the wiring is ok, nothing broken or loose, unplug the connectors, get a needle nose plier and gently twist male the pin connectors ,, careful not to snap them.. if that does not help

remove both solenoids, take a look at the screen ( metal ) at times it gets plugged , clean the screens, spray some compressed air into the passages at trranny, put all together and test drive