Notices
Honda Civic (2001 - 2005) Coupe / Sedan / Hybrid (Includes Acura EL)

Air Conditioning Intermittently Works... Plz Help!

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2011, 10:25 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Conditioning Intermittently Works... Plz Help!

Before anyone posts please read... I am trying to get some helpful answers, not the typical "make sure there is enough freon" etc...

My car is a 2003 LX Coupe, pretty base car, 101k miles. I just got it about a month ago. I knew the A/C did not work. OK no biggie, I'm a mechanic by trade so I can fix it... well I thought, but the Honda schematics are a bit confusing to me. Being said, here we go...

First I connected the A/C machine to the lo and hi ports, she was definitely low on charge. I recovered only 4oz of charge from the system. It does hold vacuum so any leak that it may have is minute as can be.

I then charged the system and what do you know, the A/c works. Push the A/C button on and the LED illuminates, compressor and fan kicks on. A/C blows cold, everything seems good.

The next time I got in the car, the A/C doesn't work again. LED comes on the A/C switch, but no compressor and no fan. I figured there must be a bigger leak than I thought, so I look and don't see any leaking seals or components. I put the gauges on the ports and it shows good pressures.

Just for sh*ts I recovered the charge to find out for sure how much is in the system. I pulled out 1lb and 2oz, indicating the system had enough freon. Well I charged her back up and still no A/C.

I went on All-Data and followed there diagnostic steps for No A/C, Compressor, and Fan operation.
Checked for power at the pressure switch, no power.
Measure resistance between both HVAC control connectors and resistance is below spec.
All-Data says to swap a known good HVAC control unit and try, I do not have one.

So according to All-Data my HVAC control unit is bad. I have one coming from the salvage yard. Should be here today.