Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

91 accord stock exhaust problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2012, 05:09 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 91 accord stock exhaust problems

Hey guys this is my first post. I just purchased a 91 accord LX. it's got 145k miles. I don't know what the previous owners or owner before did but there is not catalytic converter...put in a flex pipe and a bunch of exhaust leaks. First off do I need to replace the cat? Second it needs to be cut right where it curves under the oil pan. Are there names of the certain pipes I can order to get this back to normal without the cat? I see a few different things. Or a whole replacement stock exhaust. Any help is appreciated. I'm new to Honda. Have only had chevy pickups.
Old 05-02-2012, 09:50 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: 91 accord stock exhaust problems

Well, first you said there's no cat, then you asked if the cat needs replaced? I am confuse on that one. Where's your exhaust leaking from? Go to cb7tuner, there's DIY thread that would help you.
Old 05-02-2012, 10:08 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 67 Likes on 67 Posts

engine > exhaust manifold > A pipe w/flex joint (aka, down pipe) > catalytic converter > B pipe w/resonator (aka, mid pipe) > muffler (aka, axle back).

Depending on where the leak is you may of may not be able to replace just that pipe with OEM or off the shelf parts. Other than that you will have to take it to someone who can put a piece together for you.

It's hard to tell when there is no way for us to see how your exhaust has been put together.
Old 05-02-2012, 10:50 AM
Honda-Tech Member

^Agreed. Get some pics if you can. As for the cat, if your state has any inspections at all, you will need one.

If you don't have any experience with exhaust, it will probably be cheaper/easier to take yours to a muffler shop and tell them to go to town.
Old 05-06-2012, 09:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member