Old 03-31-2015, 04:19 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:
  • Buying Guide
    Important information to help you understand your Honda

Browse all: Specifications and General Overview
Print Wikipost

del sol buyer's guide & model year changes?

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2003, 02:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default del sol buyer's guide & model year changes?

I'm new to the "4" wheel Honda world...I have a Honda motorcycle.

Anyway, I've been looking for a VTEC Del Sol and can't seem to find any guidance or comparisons of the different years. From several searches I've got some basic info and lots of confusion.

1. Engines...B16A3 and B16A2 seem to be the DOHC VTEC motors? Are there any differences in compression ratios, connecting rods, HP, TQ? What year did the engine change? I've seen posts with overlapping years so I'm not sure what is the correct motor for what years. Which is considered the better engine?

2. OBDII...is 96 the first year for the Del Sol? Which is better for future performance mods, OBDI or OBDII? Is one more difficult to deal with? I know you must get a special reader for OBDII (not a big deal).

3. Leaking roof seals...were these fixed for all 95s or during the middle of 95? Can older Del Sols be fixed?

Any other notable mechanical, interior, exterior model changes from year to year?

Thanks for any info,
tom

Old 01-15-2003, 08:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: del sol buyer's guide & model year changes? (odie)

go to http://www.teamdelsol.com or http://www.solcal.com
they have all the specs and info you need. hope that helps.
Old 01-16-2003, 08:52 AM

Default Re: del sol buyer's guide & model year changes? (whoDAT)

the "www.solcal.com" doesn't seem to work.

but the first web site was great ...but it didn't seem to discuss any differences between the B16A2 vs B16A3 engines or the OBD vs OBDII systems.